fortyplusandfrazzled

Life really does go backwards at 40

Home for the holidays

on December 17, 2012

Woo hoo I’m through to the next round so thank you, thank you and thank you muchly for continuing to vote every week for me

Frazzlebys at the airport

The words above just fill me with dread…..

Every year we have the same family arguments over who’s turn it is to have everyone for Christmas and please take note, when I say everyone I mean everyone which also happens to include Great Aunt Sal who is diabetic and wont go anywhere without her incontinent dog Freddie. Every year I lose, don’t ask me how I manage to end up cooking for 20 plus guests some of which I’m not even flipping related to.

3 years ago the arguments started as usual in October, no phone calls just random voice mails telling me who to expect, dietary requirements and a list of presents that are required.

Sat around the table one evening with Mr F and my 3 emo’s, (Big emo being the eldest, Muggle the middle one and Lil the youngest) (for those of you with pre teen children, emo is the technical term for children when they become adolescent) I decide to broach ‘Christmas with the family’. Sometimes I wish I would just shut my mouth, I really do…. The following comments were made,

“Mum, we all think you and Terrance the turkey are having an affair, nobody sets eyes on you for hours”
“Mum, we do love you but you turn into a neurotic, sprout obsessed colour-sergeant”
“I am not sitting next to Great Aunt Sal she smells of wee, breaks wind and blames it on Uncle Jack”
The list of comments went on and on, Big and Muggle emo’s threatened to go elsewhere if all and sundry were to descend upon us yet again.

With comments still ringing in my ears and the number of guests increasing I went to bed with a heavy heart.

3.00am I sit bolt upright in bed…”Oh my days I’ve got it” I shout at the top of my voice. I Julia Frazzleby have made a decision

If you have enjoyed reading this so far and would like to read the rest of the story, please click the link and vote for me, Julia Frazzleby. Thank you muchlies 🙂 http://tinyurl.com/c2g5cs3

4 responses to “Home for the holidays

  1. Ruth2Day says:

    I really used to enjoy Christmas when I was growing up in the UK, but now a million miles away in Cape Town with a “step” family who are nothing more than miserable when it comes to being nice and jolly it has become a nightmare that I dread. And like you I always have to feed the bunch.

    Date: Mon, 17 Dec 2012 16:58:10 +0000 To: ruth2day@hotmail.com

  2. Woo Hoo, so pleased for you.
    Love the story as you know
    Voting continues!!!:-))x

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

